Rosters announced for WY-MT All-Star series

Home|Sports|Local Sports|Rosters announced for WY-MT All-Star series

SHERIDAN — Sheridan College head men’s basketball coach Matt Hammer announced the official rosters Tuesday for this summer’s annual Wyoming vs. Montana All-Star basketball series.

Hammer, along with newly hired SC women’s coach Ryan Davis, will coach the two Wyoming teams against the competition from Montana.

The games will be played on June 9-10. The first night will be played at the Bruce Hoffman Golden Dome at Sheridan College, and the two sides will play rematches a night later at Rocky Mountain College in Billings. The girls tip off at 5:30 p.m. each night, and the boys will play at 7:30 p.m.

The Wyoming boys lost both matchups against Montana last year, but Hammer has high hopes for this year’s roster, which features plenty of size.

“It was a very difficult selection process for the Wyoming-Montana All-Star games this year because of the overall talent from around the state,” Hammer said. “This year’s team will have a lot more size than we’ve had in the past few years, but we’ll also be very deep at the perimeter positions, as well. We’re really excited about the group of young men that will be representing Wyoming on June 9 and 10.”

The boys All-Star team features Pine Bluffs big man and University of Wyoming signee Hunter Thompson, as well as Worland’s Cody Baumstarck, who is committed to Sheridan College.

Wyoming boys All-Stars:

Hunter Thompson – Pine Bluffs High School

Cody Baumstarck – Worland High School

Buell Robinson – Wyoming Indian School

Manny N’tula – Kelly Walsh High School

Trevor Hautala – Rock Springs High School

Cameron Carter – Kelly Walsh High School

Jaxon Hiatt – Kelly Walsh High School

Kelby Kramer – Rock Springs High School

Eric Jammerman – Douglas High School

Kylan Shultz – Riverton High School

This year’s All-Star game will be the first in more than a decade without former SC women’s coach Frank McCarthy roaming the sideline, so fans will get a fresh take from Davis, who expects high-levels of play from the state’s best players.

“I feel really good about this year’s Wyoming All-Star team; we are very complete,” Davis said. “In years past, the best players in the state have had conflicts that have not allowed them to participate. This year, we were able to compile every senior we wanted. I like the athleticism and speed we will have, which should allow our team to compete well with the Montana girls.”

In a very rare occurrence, the Wyoming girls roster will feature four players from one high school. The 4A state champion Cheyenne East Lady Thunderbirds will send four seniors to this year’s All-Star game. Gillette will have two players on the roster, giving the All-Stars six players from the 2017 4A state championship.

Wyoming girls All-Stars:

Macie Mackey – Campbell County High School

Katie Loken – Cheyenne East High School

Maggie Justinak – Rock Springs High School

Jessie Erickson – Cheyenne East High School

Ashley Tehau – Buffalo High School

Kalina Smith – Campbell County High School

Abby Fearneyhough – Cheyenne Central High School

Sierra Stellern – Cheyenne East High School

Cosette Stellern – Cheyenne East High School

Lyndzi Rich – Worland High School

By |April 26th, 2017|

About the Author:

The news staff of The Sheridan Press covers news, sports and lifestyle stories throughout Sheridan and its surrounding region. News tips and information can be sent to the newsroom at


Tell us what you think! The Sheridan Press offers you the chance to comment on articles on We power our commenting forum with Facebook Comments. Please take a look at our participation guidelines before posting.

On Monday, Oct. 22, The Sheridan Press is making changes to our website to improve your user experience. During the update, the layout of ads and stories may vary slightly. Thank you for your patience!