SHERIDAN — Sheridan County School District 1 Superintendent Marty Kobza has been named the northeast region nominee for 2016 Wyoming Superintendent of the Year by the Northeast Superintendents of Wyoming.

The Wyoming Association of School Administrators has issued the award since 1989, with the recipient representing Wyoming at the annual American Association of School Administrators National Conference on Education while competing for National Superintendent of the Year.

“Increasing student success is at the heart of everything Marty does,” SCSD1 board chair Carol Garber said. “Since joining the district in 2011, he has helped us raise the bar to meet new state standards, including driving a complete technology integration, enhanced curriculum approach and individualized learning.”

In 2013, Kobza developed and rolled out a collaborative strategic plan that recognized input from more than 100 staff, parents and administrators. It was designed to increase student learning by seizing opportunities, remedying issues and creating greater access to the tools and curriculum necessary for 21st century success.

He has been active and successful in writing grants for technology expansion, early childhood education programs and food and nutrition funding.

Kobza recently opened the doors to a new locally sourced, scratch-cooked school lunch program at the district’s middle and high schools, in addition to expanding extra-curricular sports as well as science, technology, engineering, math and other academic opportunities for students.

“Marty is a progressive leader, and one of our best and brightest superintendents in the state,” NSW president and Campbell County School District 1 superintendent Boyd Brown said. “We have worked together on many important issues, including securing a positive vote for a proper inflation adjustment for Wyoming’s schools during the 2015 legislative session. His efforts were instrumental to our success and will make a significant difference in Sheridan and all 48 districts across the state.”

This year’s recipient, selected by a committee of past Wyoming Superintendents of the Year, will be announced April 23 at the WASA Spring Conference awards banquet.

Kobza’s predecessor, Sue Belish, was named Wyoming Superintendent of the Year in 2010.