SHERIDAN — Bruce Hoffman isn’t the only basketball coach to have received some recognition this summer for his service over the years.

Former Big Horn boys basketball coach Chuck Wells was awarded the 2014 Wyoming Coaches’ Association’s Bill Farthing Award for his local, state and national distinguished service.

The WCA has presented this award, which they call the most prestigious honor given by the association, annually since 1987.

Coach Wells was the head varsity basketball coach at Big Horn for 19 years, from 1973 to 1993. His highest achievement at the helm of the Rams came during the 1985-86 season when he led his team to a 22-0 record and a state championship.

That title isn’t the only thing that sits in Wells’ trophy case, though.

He was named WCA Coach of the Year three times, Conference Coach of the Year seven times, and was an All-Star coach two times during his tenure. That all paved way to his induction into the WCA Hall of Fame after his retirement in 1993.

Wells wasn’t done serving, yet, though.

He remained at Big Horn as the athletic director until 2002 and has served on the WCA Hall of Fame Board for the last 10 years.

Wells still finds time to substitute teach and coach basketball at Sheridan Junior High School. He just can’t seem to get out of Sheridan, the town that raised him.

“I’ve always said Sheridan is the best community in the world to raise a family,” he said, attributing his hometown to his success. “I’m very fortunate to have been raised here and retire here.”

He works hard to give back to the community that gave him so much. From coaching, to serving with the WCA, to substitute teaching, Wells says receiving the Bill Farthing Distinguished Service Award was the icing on the cake, one he’s been baking for more than 40 years.

“To be recognized by my peers and fellow board members means a great deal to me,” he said in his seemingly always humble tone. “It makes a nice cap to what’s been a wonderful time that I’ve been coaching.”

Wells is appreciative to add his name to the list of local Bill Farthing Award recipients. Scott Stults (2003), Bruce Hoffman (1999) and Sandy Michelena (1994) have also received the award.