Students compete in DI competition

Home|News|Youth|Students compete in DI competition

SHERIDAN — Local students competed in the Destination Imagination competition at Casper College April 4-5. Results are as follows:

Sheridan County School District No. 2.
First place — Sheridan Junior High School Team “Change in RealiTee!” Improvisational Challenge. Team members: Cooper Luhman, Hunter Andersen, Oscar Patten, Ashley Phillips, Kathryn Bammel and Bren Steel.
First place — “Wind Visible” Science Challenge. Meadlowlark School. Team members: Pyper Tiffany, Katie Magera, Tommy Phillips, Blaine Johnson, Courtney Wallach, Sienna Preszler, Meg Hubert and team managers Kathy Tiffany and Gab Johnson.

First place — Sheridan High School Team “Change in RealiTee!” Improvisational Challenge. Team members:  Sarah Campbell, Katie Sawyer, Ruthie White, Mariah Geertz O’Leary, Alesha Bolin, Ellison Sweeney and Tyler Coonis.

Third place — Meadowlark Team “In Disguise” Fine Arts Challenge. Team members: Samie Phillips, Maggie Kuehl, Amaya Cook, Nora Craft, Elizabeth Arnold and Amber Grutzmacher and team manager Jenny Craft.
Fourth place —  Highland Park Team “Change in RealiTee!” Improvisational Challenge. Team members: Halie Stearns, Jamie Will, Noah Luhman, Michael Andersen and Sidney Wilson Morris and team manager Millicent Stearns.

Sheridan County School District No. 1

First place — Project outreach: Real to Reel, Secondary level: Tongue River, Big Horn High School. Team members: Eddie Atter, Owen Bensel, Elianna Paninos, and Donovan Powers and team manager Ann Powers. The team also won the Torchbearer Award for teams whose solutions have had extraordinary impact in and beyond their local communities.

First place — Project outreach: Real to Reel, elementary level: Big Horn Elementary. Team members: Kate Alsup, Mallory Arneson, Ahlexa Bradshaw, Sheridan Blackburn, Aleyah Eisele, and Mary Nicholson and team managers Becki Arneson and Sandy Nicholson.

Second Place — Twist-O-Rama; Tongue River Elementary. Team members: Wes Clark, Austin McFaul, and Carleigh Reish, and Zia Robbins; team manager Zia Robbins. The team also won the spirit of DI award.
Second place — “Change in Realitee!” Middle Level: Tongue River Middle School. Team Members: Skye Bensel, Taylor Holliday, and Lizzie Moore and team manager Darci Moore.

Third place — Twist-O-Rama, middle level. Tongue River Middle School. Team members: Isaac Grimes, J.T. Hammond, Theron Kalasinski, Zack Schankey, and Nathaniel Stephens and team managers Laurie and Rob Schankey. The team also won the Da Vinci Award for outstanding creativity.

Fourth place —  In disguise, elementary level; Big Horn Elementary. Team Members: Jacob Carter, Kathryn Carter, C.J. Koval, and Jax Zimmer and team Managers April and Jacob Carter, and Valarie Koval.
Sixth place — Twist-O-Rama challenge, middle level. Big Horn middle School. Team members: Kathryn Arneson, Cheyna Bradshaw, Baylee Clemens, Caroline Haile, Jill Mayer, and Karsyn Ulibarri and team manager Becki Arneson.

Twelfth place — “Change in Realitee!” Middle Level; Tongue River Middle School. Team members: Brittany Buckallew, Amber Champlin, Megan Noel, and Laura Walters and team manager Karen Walters.

By |April 19th, 2013|

About the Author:

The news staff of The Sheridan Press covers news, sports and lifestyle stories throughout Sheridan and its surrounding region. News tips and information can be sent to the newsroom at