Local students take home slew of prizes at State Science Fair

SHERIDAN — Several Sheridan area students won awards at the Wyoming State Science Fair held in Laramie March 3-5. Awards were given in 17 scientific categories in junior (grades 6-8) and senior (grades 9-12) divisions.

More than 100 judges from the University of Wyoming and other professional organizations scored the projects based on scientific thought/engineering goals, creative ability, thoroughness, skill and clarity. Students were eligible for the state competition after winning in one of eight regional science fairs held around the state in January and February.

Big Horn Middle School

Tanner Warder — First place, Animal Sciences and UW Zoology & Physiology Special Award; Wyoming State Science Fair Junior Award of Merit; University of Wyoming Zoology and Physiology Special Award
Andy Quinn — Second place, Animal Sciences
Jillian Mayer — First place, Cellular and Molecular Biology
Kiara Paninos and Sofia Trabert — First place tie, Medicine and Health Sciences; U.S. Dept. Health & Human Services Special Science Award
Preston Gromer and Andrew Ratty — Powder River Basin Resource Council Bill Barlow Memorial Award

Tongue River Middle School

Skye Bensel — First place, Biochemistry
Libby Heimbaugh — First place, Earth and Planetary Science
Taylor Holliday — First place, Plant Sciences
Bailey Chalfant — ASM Materials Education Foundation Award

Tongue River High School

Donovan Powers — Third place, Computer Science

Sheridan High School

Brandie Shifrar — Second place, Biochemistry
Katya Koepsel and Alyssa Magestro — Third place, Environmental Management

Sheridan Junior High School

Ellie Bard — Third place, Chemistry
Jonathan Briggs — Honorable mention, Chemistry
Logan Jensen — Second place, Computer Science; Wyoming NASA Space Grant Consortium Award
Kinsey Hegy — Third place, Engineering: Electrical and Mechanical
Maria Hall — Honorable mention, Environmental Sciences; American Meteorological Award
Kellen Mentock — Second place, Mathematical Sciences
Taylor Lee — Honorable mention, Mathematical Sciences
Nolan Billings — Third place, Microbiology
Alex Buss — Honorable mention, Microbiology
Patrick Kuehl — Third place, Physics and Astronomy

Holy Name Catholic School

Ryan Miller — Honorable mention, Energy and Transportation
Maggie Pierce — Second place, Environmental Management
Aeriana Roth — Honorable mention, Medicine and Health Sciences
Hannah Deutscher — Honorable mention, Environmental Sciences; Experimental Program to Stimulate Competitive Research: Cyber Infrastructure Water Project Award
Liam Brown — Experimental Program to Stimulate Competitive Research: Cyber Infrastructure Water Project Award; Wyoming Mining Association Russ Beamer Scholarship

Share this news...
Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Share on LinkedInEmail this to someonePrint this page
The following two tabs change content below.

Latest posts by (see all)

Copyright © 2015 The Sheridan Press or Sheridan Newspapers, Inc.

Copyright © 2015 The Sheridan Press or Sheridan Newspapers, Inc..