Keystone Award honorees: Recipients to be recognized Thursday

Home|News|Local News|Keystone Award honorees: Recipients to be recognized Thursday

SHERIDAN — The third annual Keystone Awards will be held Thursday to honor Ky Dixon, Neltje and Homer Scott Jr. for their lifetime achievements of service to communities in Sheridan County.

A slate of area students will also be honored for their service.

They include Sarah Maze from Tongue River High School, Jin Kim from Sheridan High School, Patrick McClurg from Big Horn High School, Sara Ellingrod from Arvada-Clearmont High School, Caleb Ostheimer from Fort MacKenzie High School and Kate Barlow from Sheridan College.

An honoree reception will be from 5:30-7 p.m. at Red Velvet Bakery/Twisted Hearts, 35 N. Main St.

Hors d’oeuvres, desserts and beverages will be offered.

The Keystone Awards show will follow at the WYO Theater starting at 7:30 p.m. Presenters include Dave Munsick, Micah Wyatt, Too Wet to Plow and surprise guest entertainers.

Tickets for the entire event — reception, food, drinks, awards show and raffles — are $75 per person.

If you wish to attend the awards show only, the tickets are $35 per person.

Tickets are available at the WYO Theater box office, by calling 672-9084 or online at
Proceeds go toward services provided by the Sheridan Senior Center.

Profiles of the three recipients:

Homer “Scotty” Scott Jr.

Homer “Scotty” Scott Jr. is a lifelong Sheridan resident. He graduated from Sheridan High School where he excelled as a member of the Broncs football team and earned a high school All-American distinction in 1952.

“Scotty was chosen because of his influence in two areas — the business community and the numerous ways he helped build business in Sheridan most recently through the Powder Horn and First Interstate Bank,” Sheridan Senior Center Executive Director Carmen Rideout said. “Also, (he was chosen for) his work with the Homer and Mildred Scott Foundation and the establishment of his own foundation, his support of youth programs and athletics here in Sheridan County.”

He graduated from the University of Colorado with degrees in business management and engineering. A decade later, in 1968, he and other family members created First Interstate Bank.

• 1971, District manager, Peter Kiewitt and Sons
• 1973-2002, Served on the Sheridan College Foundation Board of Directors
• 1987-2004, Served as chairman of the Audit Committee for MDU Resources
• 1993-1996, Served on Montana State University’s Business Advisory Board
• 2001, Inducted into the Wyoming Sports Hall of Fame


Neltje, a local artist and philanthropist, has had work displayed in regional and national art galleries.

“Neltje was chosen for her love of the Sheridan community and for her work saving the Sheridan Inn,” Sheridan Senior Center Executive Director Carmen Rideout said. “Also (she was chosen for) her contributions in recent years that have yet to fully be realized like the donations of land to the First People’s Center and the Sheridan Baseball Academy and her tremendous gifts to the University of Wyoming and Sheridan College.”

• 1967, Purchased and began restoration on the historic Sheridan Inn

• 1980s, Funded the annual Neltje Blanchan Literary Award through the Wyoming Arts Council in honor of her paternal grandmother

• 1985-1988, Served on the board of the Wyoming Arts Council
• 2001, Created the Jentel Foundation

• 2005, Received Wyoming Governor’s Art Award

• 2010, Makes donation of her ranch, studio and art collection to the University of Wyoming, the largest such donation in the University’s history

• 2011, Donated land to Sheridan College for a large animal science facility

• 2011, Donated land to the Sheridan Baseball Academy for an indoor practice facility and fields

Ky Dixon

Ky Dixon is the former executive director of the Sheridan Senior Center. During her 22 years in that position, she helped expand the center’s services including establishing the Mini Bus, Day Break and other programs. More than 500 area residents benefit from these services each day. She is a third generation Sheridan County resident and has donated considerable time and talent to a variety of organizations in Sheridan.

“Ky was chosen because of her longstanding work in the community in the service field with the senior center, as a county commissioner and her work on a number of boards,” Sheridan Senior Center Executive Director Carmen Rideout said. “All of that work made a positive difference for everyday people here in our community.”

• 2003-2006, Sheridan County Commissioner
• Board Member, Sheridan Memorial Hospital
• Board Member, Northern Wyoming Mental Health
• Board Member, Whitney Benefits
• Board Member, Wyoming Rehab
• Board Member, Lifelink
• Board Member, Sheridan Hospice
• Board Member, The Center for a Vital Community
• Board Member, The Joe and Arlene Watt Trust
• Board Member, Wyoming Senior Services Board

By |April 24th, 2013|

About the Author:

The news staff of The Sheridan Press covers news, sports and lifestyle stories throughout Sheridan and its surrounding region. News tips and information can be sent to the newsroom at