Black Powder Shootout begins

Home|Sports|Local Sports|Black Powder Shootout begins

SHERIDAN — The fourth annual Black Powder Shootout officially kicked off today at the Powder Horn.

This year’s tournament features 168 players making up 84 teams.

The two-man teams will compete in five nine-hole matches between today and tomorrow in a best ball format tournament. An optional practice round featuring a team best ball was offered yesterday, as well.

The teams will play 27 holes today before enjoying dinner and beer sponsored by Powder River Pizza and the Black Tooth Brewing Company. Tomorrow, each team will play 18 more holes to determine the winners of each flight. The winners of each flight will then compete in a derby style shootout to determine the champions.

The 14 winners of each flight participate in the seven-hole shootout, alternating shots per two-man team. After each hole, the three teams with the worst scores are eliminated.

Once the final three teams remain, their scores on the final hole determine first, second and third place. All ties are determined by a chip-off.

During the derby all players who failed to qualify, as well as any other spectators, are invited to participate in betting and drinks. A portion of the proceeds from the derby go to K-Life.

The last three champions are listed below.

2013 winners – Paul Lamberson and Dave Freiz

2012 winners – Keith Walter and Robert Baures

2011 winners – Ryan Healy and Brock Boedecker

By |July 18th, 2014|

About the Author:

The news staff of The Sheridan Press covers news, sports and lifestyle stories throughout Sheridan and its surrounding region. News tips and information can be sent to the newsroom at